1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

300x - Advice Please Re: Jet Cleaning Control Knob

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by daesm, Jan 12, 2018.

1. daesm

daesm United Kingdom Subscriber

Evening,

I would be grateful for some advice regarding my 300x. I started cleaning it up tonight, replaced seals etc. The problem I have is that the jet cleaner control know is just rotating around itself and when I came to start the lantern up it didn't fire up.

I've another 300x which I know works and the control knob on this one turns and stops on the 180 degree plane.

Any idea why the control knob is rotating on itself?

Thanks

2. MG United Kingdom

I believe that's normal on some of them, i have a few that rotate 360 degrees, as long as you can feel the cleaning needle through the jet when raised and then lower it for starting it should be fine unless there are other issues.

3. daesm

Now I am confused. The vapouriser is from a lantern that works so that is fine. I've changed all the seals and it pressurises ok and I have it a good pre-heat too. I'll have another look at it tomorrow :)

4. David Shouksmith

David Shouksmith United Kingdom Founder Member

Great Lumley - cultural capital of N.E. England
    Yep, some of them have a restricted arc of movement ending with the pricker in the raised position when the jet cleaner knob shows the 'v' pointing upwards. Others just continually rotate but the same principle applies - when the 'V' is pointing up the pricker is raised in the jet. I think they did that because it's quicker and easier to flick the knob round and clean the jet without extinguishing the lantern. To turn the knob so far and then reverse the direction of rotation quickly takes a split-second longer. I can't think of any other reason for it.