Bialaddin 305 screws

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Donal, Apr 24, 2018.

1. Donal

Hi everyone,
    I am a bit of a newbie here, I got gifted a fairly pitted Bialladin 305 over the weekend and I am doing my best with it.

The container is fairly pitted but I don't think I will take it down to the brass, it looks nice enough when cleaned. One thing that worried me was that there was putty on the outside of the container(and two lumps of it inside). Was this a usual repair for a leak? I have a feeling it might have been for seating the frame base but I will do a pressure test to see (once I get my new washers!).

My question is about the screws, a few have been replaced previously with incorrect threads and lengths so I would like to replace them with the correct ones. The ones that go into the frame bars are the main concern, with the little star washers, would anyone be able to tell me what size they are? They don't appear on the documentation that I have found so far.

Any wisdom that could be passed on to me would be greatly appreciated too!

Thanks a million,
    Donal

2. JEFF JOHNSON

JEFF JOHNSON United Kingdom Subscriber

Welcome aboard!:thumbup:
    Soldering is the usual repair method.
    Photographs will help us to assist you.

3. ColinG

ColinG United Kingdom Subscriber

I know that the brass dome headed screws that attach the frame to the tank or fount are called 2BA - an old imperial size available from eBay relatively cheaply. The other screws are very likely an imperial size too but exactly which one I'm not sure. One thing's for sure, there are plenty of people willing to sell you 3 screws for £9.99 because they label them 'Bialaddin Screws' when they are only really worth a few pence. Be wise, shop around and ask questions - someone on here will know the answer.

4. Donal