My first fettle and ultrasonic cleaner

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Franta, Jan 7, 2021.

1. Franta

Franta Czech Republic Subscriber

Hello,

I am going to fettle my first lamp. So I am looking for some help and advice. I am currently putting together the list of missing or damaged parts I need to order somewhere (probably the Base Camp?).

I want to clean the rest in my ultrasonic cleaner. Are there any parts that should not be cleaned this way? What bath do you recommend? Especially for brass parts?

Some people fill the cleaner with pure water and put the parts in smaller jars filled with some specific bath in order to save the resources and keep the cleaner clean.

One more question: Are there any risks I should be aware? It seems that there is no asbestos nor thorium mantle in my lamp. I have some experience with a propane-butane lamp and stove and once I have even successfully started a kerosene blowtorch. But I want to approach such a nice and old lamp with respect she deserves.

Thanks,
    Franta

2. Jean J

Jean J Subscriber

Some pictures of your lamp would be good Franta.

3. JEFF JOHNSON

JEFF JOHNSON United Kingdom Subscriber

Welcome aboard!:thumbup:

4. R100

R100 United Kingdom Subscriber

There are plenty of products for use with brass in an US cleaner, but whatever you do don't use ammoniated clock cleaner as it can cause cracking, particularly in items subject to stress such as founts under pressure. Just search for US brass cleaner. You could just use washing up liquid in deionised water which will clean but not brighten the brass or remove serious tarnish.

5. Franta

Of course. Here she is. Already quite shiny, but with several parts missing or damaged (it was sold as untested).

IMG_0616.JPG IMG_0610.JPG IMG_0611.JPG IMG_0613.JPG