Need help with Coleman 275 shrader valve

Discussion in 'Forum Feedback & Problems' started by Josh Finney, Sep 9, 2021.

  1. Josh Finney United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    NC
    Hello,
    I am trying to follow online help and rebuild an old 275 I picked up from my great uncle.
    I was doing fine until I got to the fuel tube where the shrader valve should be but all the removes when I unscrew is a small brass cap that the fuel rod runs through. I cant seem to remove anymore and nothing looks like a shrader valve down in that tube. Were there some 275s made with no shrader.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. Toby Garner

    Toby Garner United States Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    SW Missouri
    Is your lantern a 275 or 275A? Both used Schrader valves, but the 275 also had a metering rod in the F/A tube where the A did not. I have used heat to get broken Schrader's out in the past... Just make sure the sealing surfaces of the Schrader valve are good and clean before re-assembly.
     
  3. Josh Finney United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    NC
    Thanks for the response. It is a 275. I will try to take some pictures and post them later today. I put the lantern back together last night and I get pressure built up when I pump but no fire at all when I try to light. I will take it back apart and see if I can use some heat to get that valve out. It just doesn't look like there is a valve in there. All i see is a spring and what looks like the top of the pin/bar that moves us and down to allow fuel in. Maybe I just need to dig down in there some more. Thanks for the help.

    Thanks
    Josh
     
  4. Josh Finney United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    NC
    I'm still having trouble getting this a part. Is the Schrader valve down in there. Hopefully you can see in the pics.
    Thankd
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Fireexit1

    Fireexit1 United Kingdom Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Brighton UK
    Not sure if this helps: (found via search engine)
    275 pic.jpg

    275-710.jpg

    Also - If you do not have a schrader tool, one might be helpful ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2021
  6. newfie

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
    Part #5 in @Fireexit1's image is what you need to remove.

    If you haven't bought the replacement part yet it's available on www.oldcolemanparts.com. Search for valve core.

    If you heat up the fuel/air tube with a small propane torch that valve core should be easy to get completely out.
     
  7. Josh Finney United States

    Offline
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    NC
    Thanks,
    I actually have ordered replacement parts however I did heat the unit up last night and got it out. Replaced the Schrader valve but still had no fire. I spend much time cleaning the generator which I believe was the main issue and I finally got it to work. I have a refurbed generator coming so I think I have it in the right direction. Thanks for the help and advice.
     
  8. Fireexit1

    Fireexit1 United Kingdom Subscriber

    Offline
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Brighton UK
    Most Schrader valves are for air and the rubber swells up and degrades rapidly - look for car air conditioning ones. If it is not opening at all it may be screwed in too far or too short. You can test it without a generator in place or preferably with generator and no burner assy to see if it makes the ceiling wet (or do it outside )
     
  9. Blueflame Canada

    Offline
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    A replacement Schrader valve of the proper material may have to have the stem tip ground off. Some may be too long and will not allow shut off, but probably not in your case.
     

Share This Page