Newbie with some new stuff and Q's

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Steve Holt, Oct 10, 2019.

1. Steve Holt United Kingdom

Hi All

Newbie here! Just wanted to post and say 'hi' and share my new acquisitions (MODS= if this is in the wrong forum please move)

I have just become the proud owner of a Tilley X246B and a Valor 65C Stove - obtained via Freecycle, so obviously didn't cost me anything apart from petrol to collect

Tilley X246B + Valor 65C Stove.jpg

The previous owner said they believed their Dad had bought during the fuel crisis, but didn't think they had ever been used and they were still in their original boxes

Looking at them the Valor 65C looks to have been used probably twice - I have already used it to test how long to boil a full kettle of water using and old whistling kettle - about 25 minutes to reach a faint whistle

Valor called it a boiling stove but probably more like a simmering stove, although I did notice once the chimney had got hot enough I was able to increase the size of the blue flame to about double

I have also just used it to keep and old pressure at pressure to cook some jacket potatoes (very good for that) but I had to get it to pressure first on a portable gas stove - am thinking I will probably make a curry today using my Dutch oven and using like a slow cooker - we'll see how that goes!

The Tilley X246B looks to be unused, even had an unused, unlit mantle fitted and the meths heater was also new and unburned, the stamp on the bottom is 774 (so assuming date of manufacture was July 1974? - which would roughly tie in with when the previous owner thought their Dad had bought it new)

So I fired that up but found it to be leaking from the on/off knob. After doing a bit of research and watching Broadlander's excellent servicing videos I realised it was most likely the packing gland (234?)