Noob alert - Aida 1500 express

Discussion in 'Pressure Lamp Discussion Forum' started by Patrick Hayes, Dec 14, 2019.

1. Patrick Hayes United States

My brother in law and I have a Christmas tradition where we exchange gifts found via dumpster diving or other freebie situations. This year I got an Aida 1500 express! I'm not a mechanically inclined person, but looking at some of the detailed restoration posts makes me think its doable...but first I'd like to see if its working as is...so questions, and

forgive me if these have been answered in forum, but could not find specifics:

1. what is the step by step for lighting? I'm a bit confused by the blow torch starter, but it looks like you pull the spring loaded thing back and light after pumping up. See - told you I'm a noob.

2. Should the valve rotate infinitely, or should it lock/screw down as one rotates clockwise.

3. I have some 1111 mantles ordered, but also have some model 785 American Mantles. Could these work temporarily?

Thanks for any help and love this new hobby.

2. WimVe

WimVe Subscriber

Welcome to the forum.

step3: why do you order mantles if you doo not know how the lantern works ?

For the rest: look for restoration petromax, you will find a lot of answers on all your questions.
    Sorry but using the help function is part of live. Your AIDA 1500 is identical to the petromax 500cp style lanterns.

Pictures would help for us too.

3. Patrick Hayes United States

Ordered mantles because it does not have one and read on this forum that the 1111 is appropriate for the lantern. I grew up with a coleman style lantern, but this thing has some features not accustomed too...

Will check out petromax info. Thanks!

4. Patrick Hayes United States

Not sure what this means. I don't use forums that much.

"Sorry but using the help function is part of live. "

5. Mackburner

Mackburner United Kingdom Founder Member Subscriber