Optimus 930

Discussion in 'Pressure Lamp Discussion Forum' started by FMJ, Dec 2, 2011.

1. FMJ

Hi everyone
    I'm new to the forum and from Norway.
    I am trying to restore an Optimus 930. The lamp is in ok condition, but has not been used for many years. I have no former experience with pressure lamps at all. I have mounted a 300 CP silk mantle and changed the pump leather.
    I am still not able to pump pressure onto the kerosene tank and think the pump valve is the problem. Is it possible to fix the valve (loosen it and clean it)? Alternatively change it?

Best Regards
    FMJ

2. JEFF JOHNSON

JEFF JOHNSON United Kingdom Subscriber

Hello and welcome aboard, it sounds like the valve needs to be removed and restored, there is a removal tool which is designed for that job.

Some of the Scandinavian collectors will be able to add more details.

Speaking of collectors from Scandinavia, has Magnus Thilander joined this forum yet? Jeff.

3. Carlsson

Carlsson Sweden Admin/Founder Member

FMJ, the NRV at the bottom of the pump tube might of course be your problem, but there are a couple of other things that also might cause your lanterns leakage.
    But first of all you must realize that paraffin lanterns from Sweden generally don't have any positive shut off valve (the control wheel only operates the cleaning needle, even if it also make a pretty good seal in the upper position as long as you have a liquid in the tank), so you will always loose pressure, and this is especially noticeable if you only test it with an empty tank.
    The most common culprit is actually the seal in the tank lid.

Anyway, the NRV is removed (counter-clockwise) with a slotted tool that you easily make yourself out of some suitable metal part that fits snugly inside the pump tube. Look at my pictures below, and I hope you'll get the idea.
    The big thing at the bottom is an old cold chisel in which I cut a slot of the desired 5mm to fit on the head of the NRV.