Petromax 827/250cp and 829/500cp

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Bryan, Aug 22, 2019.

1. Bryan United States

Hi I’m a newbie..

So trying to be a good neighbor I volunteered to restore these lanterns that belonged to her father 30 years ago. I bought the rebuild kits through Amazon and carefully rebuilt them. For the life of me I can’t build any pressure in the fuel tanks to get them to work. I’m $100 into the project and feeling like an idiot.

Where should I look?

upload_2019-8-21_18-18-31.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 22, 2019
  2. george

george United States Subscriber

Make sure the tank cap it tight and the little release screw on the tank cap is tight. Make sure the leather pump is oiled. Do you have instructions for lighting the lanterns? Remember, these are kerosene fueled not gasoline or camp fuel.

3. Bryan United States

Using kerosine, filled to just below the pressure gauge level.

Can’t seem to build pressure.

4. Andrew T

Did you replace the rubber pip in the non return valve ( NRV).

5. phaedrus42

phaedrus42 Subscriber

First question, is the pump plunger making pressure in the pump tube?
    If it is, then is the pressure going through the NRV into the fount?
    Check that first and show a pic of how the pump plunger leather cup is fitted.
    Then we can look at other possible causes step-by-step.

6. WimVe

WimVe Subscriber

What is a rebuild kit ?
    Are you in anyway familiar with these kerosene lanterns ?
    What did you do ?
    Why did you do that ?
    Did you look for a manual and read it ?

7. Bryan United States

I'll answer all the questions I can here - and guys, I appreciate your engagement. I somehow grew up knowing absolutely nothing about German kerosene lanterns - German motorcycles yes, but lanterns no.