Soot deposit on glass chimney mystery

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by Rescuer, Jul 22, 2019.

1. Rescuer United Kingdom

I am an absolute beginner with kerosene pressure lanterns but have had some success within the past month.
    I recently bought 2 Sea Anchor Kerosene Pressure Lanterns from eBay. Same model. Both work fine. I light both of them using the rapid starter or the ignition device where a jet of kerosene spray is lit up and is directed towards the vaporizer. I use the same kerosene in both. One lantern produces soot around the glass chimney every time I light it up! But the other lantern leaves no soot at all on its glass chimney! It is completely clean! I have emptied a litre of kerosene from the tank of the faulty lantern through a fine sieve and there are hardly any sediment particles in it as the photo shows.
    Should I pour in white vinegar and leave it overnight to clean the kerosene tank of the faulty lantern ?
    Should I disassemble the red wheel mechanism to try to clean the tube leading to the jet?
    Has anyone successfully solved this sort of problem? I enclose some photos. I would be very grateful for you guys helping me get to the bottom of this mystery.

Soot deposit on glass chimney.jpg Sediment particles when kerosene from tank was passed through a fine sieve1.jpg

2. JEFF JOHNSON

JEFF JOHNSON United Kingdom Subscriber

Welcome aboard!:thumbup:

That is an odd problem and not one that I have come across before with any of the Petromax type of lanterns.

However, blackening of the glass usually occurs when some part is slightly loose, which leads to the fuel and air mix is not burning properly and there will also be a strong smell of paraffin/kerosene, so check that all parts are properly tightened and clean, because a clean lantern always works better.

Then I would try preheating the lantern with meths, assuming that there is a meths trough in that lantern, then let us know the results.

3. David Shouksmith