Vapalux paint codes

Discussion in 'Pressure Lamp Discussion Forum' started by Nevermindthedarkness, Nov 23, 2020.

1. Nevermindthedarkness United Kingdom

Does anyone know of a resource with the colour codes for Vapalux lamps? I've started restoring a Vapalux 300x which was stripped of paint exccept for the base of the font, which is maroon / oxblood, I fancy repainting and was considering getting someone to colour match but that costs a fair bit more than ordering with a code, has anyone ever found these codes?

If not sod it, Ill probably go for it when i have a few quid spare (well, 30 of them to be exact, plus shipping a font to some far flung corner of the uk), and post here fyi but but it would be a nice saving if someone had a list of codes... I saw a thread here recommending a chestnut (i think rustoleum) alternative but tbh the anal retentive in me wants as close a match as possible, its a sickness. Thanks for any help guys

2. MYN

Well, I'm no Vapalux expert but I'm pretty certain they don't exactly use the colour codes that we are familiar with on the present day colour templates.
    The best way to get the closest match, in my opinion, is to have it done in a local auto-refinishing or paint shop. Customized, that is.

3. Nevermindthedarkness United Kingdom

Cheers MYN, makes sense on that front. If I get it matched I'll post the code here, it would be a useful resource if there was a list of modern codes to order with. I suppose it wouldnt be perfect since it would rely on my lamp as a reference (and that thing aint in the best of nick) but its something.. Thanks again

4. george United States