Vitreous (porcelain US) enamelling a hood

Discussion in 'Fettling Forum' started by presscall, Jul 8, 2020.

1. presscall

presscall United Kingdom Subscriber

Patching really, of a red Bialaddin hood.

This specimen, with the characteristic loss of enamel where spot-welds in the hood fabrication conduct heat resulting in hot-spots and enamel micro-cracking and loss. I’ve used a Dremel sanding drum to get rid of loose rust in the patches.

365C3B40-9853-42E6-9B89-077FA6DBE899.jpeg

817D3C1A-2093-43F7-9D04-957C6B215609.jpeg

F4BE0E29-731A-4A8A-B5AE-F1FAF70577CB.jpeg

I cut a sliver of steel to fill that void. No need to silbraze it in position, it will be covered and be held in place by the enamel.

A3B4CAC0-8D79-40F4-9DE3-67EF8C1D77EE.jpeg

I’ve never done any enamelling before and with no justification to buy a kiln (£££’s) got to thinking that my MAPP blowtorch melts silver solder at a higher melting point than enamel (powdered coloured glass primarily) so why not try that?

0382149E-7F09-43C2-B651-8FA9EEF99381.jpeg

On reading up on enamelling techniques I was pleased to discover that ‘torch firing’ is an established method. A possible snag was that it’s used primarily in jewellery enamelling, small pieces and not hood-sized.

I found that as well as the blowtorch I already owned a chemistry lab tripod, something I couple up with a vintage naptha-fuelled Barthel bunsen burner occasionally to brew coffee.

204CFACA-3653-4D6F-940D-DD28AADF94DB.jpeg

Other essential was eye protection, since I visualised enamel perhaps cracking and getting airborne (it didn’t, but as well to take precautions).

E51D2938-3298-44CA-A1E2-4E84DE35F73B.jpeg

Enamel supplies in the UK took me to WG Ball and I shopped for ‘groundcoat’ used to provide a base coat on steel ...

C142B55F-FEE2-405B-9829-A1E18A701BF4.jpeg