A brass Standard 2045

Discussion in 'Pressure Lamp Discussion Forum' started by Gustavo, Sep 30, 2013.

1. Gustavo

Hello from Spain.

I'm new to this world of pressure lanterns. Recently I bought my first lamp on a street market. It lacks some parts, the glass, the bonnet and the principal jet. The heater jet is broken by the thread.

Searching information I've found that it has the shape of a Standard 2045, but that lamp was made on steel, not entirely on brass like mine. The only mark it has is "DANUS", just engraved below the two control valves. On the ceramic nozzle there is also a 1353 number.

I think it can be a replica or a copy made in Denmark as Danus was the first king of its protohistory....

Now, thanks to the gentle aid of Neil A McRae, I know the diameter of the principal jet, and the similarities or differences with the real Standard 2045.

http://www.lampguild.org/cgi-bin/bboard/bboard.pl?QX=LG&SHOW=Q0006584

Now I`m searching for a bonnet that fits, say one of the Standard 2045 or the 2422(Petromax 850), as they share the same charasteristic "ears" for the handle that also fix the tap.

The jet can be another valuable item to find.
    1380514688-Q0006584.JPG 1380514714-R0015733.JPG

Attached Files:

2. Mackburner

Mackburner United Kingdom Founder Member Subscriber

Yes this is an odd lantern. We are familiar with it painted green with red and black fibre control wheels but this one is nickel or chrome plated and has metal plated wheels. Thet are not normally stamped either they just had a decal applied to the side of the tank.

So I am interested to know who sold this "Special" as a Danus brand and where it was retailed. ::Neil::

3. Gustavo

I've fixed the heater jet turning it upside down. Yes, it is threaded on both sides, the same thread, but somebody broke it and only remains one turn, enough to hold that "umbrella" burner, as only evaporated gas pass through that jet.